The Midnight Man

They call me the Midnight Man

For I never sleep;

I walk as far as I can

‘Til Life bids me weep.

 

As I stride toward shadow

All their voices sound:

“There! Look at the sad man go

With no friends around.”

 

The hands of Night are quite cold

Yet embrace me still

‘Cause my journey is so old–

For All I take chill.

 

I walk for the lonely souls,

I slog for the sad;

I explore misery’s holes

As Midnight nomad.

 

And when dawn rears her first hues,

Flushing the world pink,

My eyes close–Midnight won’t lose!–

And in final sleep sink.

Leave a Reply

